We store cookies on your device to make sure we give you the best experience on this website. I'm fine with this - Turn cookies off
Switch to an accessible version of this website which is easier to read. (requires cookies)

Welcome to the website of Daventry Liberal Democrats

here you can find news and information about Lib Dem activities across Daventry

Daventry Constituency (© Ordnance Survey)

Daventry Constituency

We cover the area of Daventry constituency (as shown in the map opposite). It's a large, mainly rural, area and includes the town of Daventry and in the south stretches down to include parts of South Northamptonshire District (Bugbrooke, Heyfords and Harpole) as well as round to the east of Northampton to include parts of Wellingborough District (Earls Barton, Ecton and Overstone). The larger villages of Moulton, Long Buckby, Crick and Brixworth are included and the constituency stretches up to the border with Warwickshire and Leicestershire and includes all the villages in between that are within Northamptonshire.

The area has been solidly blue electing a Conservative MP since the current constituency was first created in 1974 - it is viewed as an archetypal safe seat. The current Conservative MP Chris Heaton Harris was first elected in 2010 and is a former MEP. He is a member of the European Reserach Group of Conservative MPs (and former Chair), the Brexiteers who have succesfully campaign for Britain to leave the European Union. He is a recognised climate change sceptic and has campaigned and voted against subsidies for renewable energy as well as contributed to a pamphlet against wind farms. In 2019 Boris Johnson appointed him as Minister for the Railways.

The whole area is within Northamptonshire County Council which the Conservatives have controlled since 2005. The council has twice been effetively 'bankrupt' with Government Commissioners being appointed to run it and sort out the mess.The Conservatives have followed an ideology of holding down council tax rises and also splitting up and slimming down the council into seperate business units which resulted in higher costs and fragmented services as well as severe cuts having to be made due to a shortage of funds. The Conservatives have threatened libraries with closure, cut all subsidised bus routes and presided over crumbling roads and pavements as well as having a Social Care and Childrens Service that has been failing the most vulnerable.

As a result of these failings the Government decided to scrap the council and combine it with the existing District Councils of Daventry, South Northants and Northampton Borough. The new Shadow West Northamptonshire Council has been set up with the Government appointing existing Conservative councillors to run it until elections can be held. Elections were due in May 2020 but have been postponed until 2021 due to the Covid- 19 pandemic.

We believe it is time for a change!

Liberal Democrats in Daventry constituency area are once again a growing force, having welcomed a number of new members since the 2015 General Election, and we run regular meetings, social activities and campaign events for our members and supporters.

At the last two General Elections we have increased our share of the vote and we also contested all the local council seats up for election at the last set of local elections (1 more than Labour!). In July 2019 we won a Daventry District Council by-election in Brixworth ward with a 33% swing from the Conservatives and came second to them in the Abbey North ward by-election in October of the same year.

We currently have 2 Daventry District Councillors within the area (see below) who have been taking the lead on a number of issues in opposition to the ruling Conservatives on Daventry District Council. Across the West Northants area we have 11 councillors on the new Shadow Council.

Daventry District Councillors

Barby and Kilsby Ward

Catherine Lomax

Cllr Catherine Lomax - 22 Daventry Road, Kilsby, CV23 8XF

Telephone:01788 822483

E-mail: CLomax@daventrydc.gov.uk

Brixworth Ward

Jonathan Harris 2

Cllr Jonathan Harris - Hall Court House, 1 High Street, Brixworth, NN6 9DD

Telephone 07759 977981

Email jonathanharrislibdem@icloud.com

Twitter: @jharrislibdem

More information about Daventry District Council can be found at https://www.daventrydc.gov.uk

Daventry Constituency Parliamentary Spokesperson

Andrew Simpson

Andrew Simpson - 1 Manor Villas, Manor Road, Kilsby, Rugby, Northants CV23 8XS

Telephone: 01788 823299


Twitter: @asjsimpson

Facebook: www.facebook.com/ASJSimpson/

Daventry Constituency Local Party Executive Committee Officers for 2021

Honorary President - Cllr Catherine Lomax

Chair - Rupert Knowles
Vice Chair - Cllr Jonathan Harris

Secretary - Bob Symons
Treasurer - Chris Shervey
Diversity Officer - Nigel Strang

Membership Secretary - Alan Knape

Contact us using the contact form.